Skip site navigation (1)Skip section navigation (2)
Date:      Fri, 02 Feb 2007 17:30:18 -0500
From:      Robert Fitzpatrick <lists@webtent.net>
To:        FreeBSD <freebsd-questions@freebsd.org>
Subject:   Re: Determining daylight savings changes on BSD
Message-ID:  <1170455418.16189.42.camel@columbus.webtent.org>
In-Reply-To: <20070202163637.GC44511@dan.emsphone.com>
References:  <1170430862.16189.8.camel@columbus.webtent.org> <20070202163637.GC44511@dan.emsphone.com>

Next in thread | Previous in thread | Raw E-Mail | Index | Archive | Help
On Fri, 2007-02-02 at 10:36 -0600, Dan Nelson wrote:
> In the last episode (Feb 02), Robert Fitzpatrick said:
> > I use the following command on our CentOS Linux servers to find out
> > if the system is ready for the daylight savings changes coming up,
> > but it does not seem to work the same on our FreeBSD 5.4 and 6.1
> > servers. How can I do this? I see the zdump command and the man page
> > seems to suggest the same usage, but...
> > 
> > esmtp# zdump -v US/Eastern | grep 2007
> > esmtp# zdump -v US/Eastern
> > US/Eastern  Fri Dec 13 20:45:52 1901 UTC = Fri Dec 13 20:45:52 1901 UTC isdst=0 gmtoff=0
> > US/Eastern  Sat Dec 14 20:45:52 1901 UTC = Sat Dec 14 20:45:52 1901 UTC isdst=0 gmtoff=0
> > US/Eastern  Mon Jan 18 03:14:07 2038 UTC = Mon Jan 18 03:14:07 2038 UTC isdst=0 gmtoff=0
> > US/Eastern  Tue Jan 19 03:14:07 2038 UTC = Tue Jan 19 03:14:07 2038 UTC isdst=0 gmtoff=0
> 
> That means you need to update your zoneinfo tables.  You can also use
> the date command to see if you need updating:
> 
> date -r 1173679260
> 

Yes, thanks, looks like I need to do that, how do I update my zoneinfo
tables?

esmtp# zdump -v EST5EDT | grep '200[67]'
EST5EDT  Sun Apr  2 06:59:59 2006 UTC = Sun Apr  2 01:59:59 2006 EST isdst=0 gmtoff=-18000
EST5EDT  Sun Apr  2 07:00:00 2006 UTC = Sun Apr  2 03:00:00 2006 EDT isdst=1 gmtoff=-14400
EST5EDT  Sun Oct 29 05:59:59 2006 UTC = Sun Oct 29 01:59:59 2006 EDT isdst=1 gmtoff=-14400
EST5EDT  Sun Oct 29 06:00:00 2006 UTC = Sun Oct 29 01:00:00 2006 EST isdst=0 gmtoff=-18000
EST5EDT  Sun Apr  1 06:59:59 2007 UTC = Sun Apr  1 01:59:59 2007 EST isdst=0 gmtoff=-18000
EST5EDT  Sun Apr  1 07:00:00 2007 UTC = Sun Apr  1 03:00:00 2007 EDT isdst=1 gmtoff=-14400
EST5EDT  Sun Oct 28 05:59:59 2007 UTC = Sun Oct 28 01:59:59 2007 EDT isdst=1 gmtoff=-14400
EST5EDT  Sun Oct 28 06:00:00 2007 UTC = Sun Oct 28 01:00:00 2007 EST isdst=0 gmtoff=-18000

-- 
Robert




Want to link to this message? Use this URL: <http://docs.FreeBSD.org/cgi/mid.cgi?1170455418.16189.42.camel>